• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Solved Question on Combining GOF Mods (Smoother seas)

Elderlaw

Sailor Apprentice
Greetings to all...

New account here after lurking for the past few weeks. (Yeah I'm new to AOP2. Glad to have discovered it, even if I am a decade late!)

HUGE kudos to the GOF modders. I don't know HOW I missed this game until now, and your mods are just an amazing improvement. Thank you!

I have two installs running. One with GOF 1.2, and one with GOF2.0. What I would like, is for 2.0 to have the smoother sea from ver. 1.2. How hard would that be?

I have spent some time looking through the file systems of the game and am pretty familiar with where things are. But, I don't know exactly what files need to be copied from 1.2 to 2.0. Anyone know?

I suspect the relevant files would be in PROGRAM\Weather, though I am not familiar with the modifications made by that team.

Recommend to get WinMerge and compare the files to see if you can track down the relevant differences.

Ahoy Elderlaw, welcome aboard mate!

This one was tough to track down, unfortunately, I don't remember exactly what was changed. CoAS uses a bit more complicated scripting system that are sometimes tied to DLL's and other files, a real pain for modding. The ridiculous amounts of fog and rough seas were added to "compensate" for flaws in the game engine. Ships and islands at a distance will appear as floating above the water, there are a couple of other things, but if I recall correctly that is the main one.