1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Need Help Ship names

Discussion in 'CoAS Alpha & Brainstorming' started by Galleon Love, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. Galleon Love

    Galleon Love Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello pirate gamers. I'm not sure if this is in the right place so apologies if not. I don't think anyone will know the answer I am looking for but I will ask anyway in the event someone does know.

    I already know how to change the name of the ship you can get when you start your game. Does anyone know where I can go to change the name for a specific character's ship that they start with. Is there a line of code I could add to get the game to give my character the ship I have specified with the name I wish to apply to it? Here is what I have now. This is from RPGUtilite.

    // íà÷àëüíûå ñêèëû çàäàòü
    InitStartParam(pchar);
    SetEnergyToCharacter(pchar);
    initMainCharacterItem();
    DeleteAttribute(pchar, "Ship");
    switch (pchar.model)
    {
    case "Dep0":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_GALEON, true);
    pchar.money = 25000;
    break;
    case "DavyJones":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_FRIGATE, true);
    pchar.money = 43000;
    break;

    Is there a place where ships are named and I could insert a line here such as: pchar.Ship.name = GenerateShipName("Pluto", true):

    Thank you for anyone with a clue
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,581
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Try pchar.ship.name = "Pluto";

    That would work in PotC, but of course... CoAS can be a bit different at times. :facepalm
     
  3. Galleon Love

    Galleon Love Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    You think it might be that simple? Very good I will. Thank you for the suggestion. I will try.
     
  4. Galleon Love

    Galleon Love Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Well that did not work. But it was part of the solution. But I did talk to someone else whom you know who helped me. It works now. For someone else who may want to try, here is the solution.

    // íà÷àëüíûå ñêèëû çàäàòü
    InitStartParam(pchar);
    SetEnergyToCharacter(pchar);
    initMainCharacterItem();
    DeleteAttribute(pchar, "Ship");
    switch (pchar.model)
    {
    case "Dep0":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_GALEON_h21, true);
    pchar.Ship.Name = "San Francisco";
    pchar.money = 25000;
    break;
    case "DavyJones":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_FRIGATE, true);
    pchar.Ship.Name = "Vliegende Hollander";
    pchar.money = 43000;
    break;
    case "Alonso":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_CARAVEL2, true);
    pchar.Ship.Name = "San Pedro";
    pchar.money = 5000;
    break;
    case "norrington":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_Fregates_Legeres, true);
    pchar.Ship.Name = "Centurion";
    pchar.money = 25000;
    break;
    case "beltrop":
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_Guineaman, true);
    pchar.Ship.Name = "Whydah";
    pchar.money = 12000;
    break;

    if(!REALISTIC_SHIP_PURCHASE) // = If Realistic Ship Purchase is NOT enabled
    {
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_Barque3), 0);

    }
    else // = If Realistic SHIP PURCHASE IS enabled
    {

    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_Barque3), 0);
    }
    }
    SetBaseShipData(pchar);
    pchar.Ship.Name = (pchar);
    // êîöàåì êîðàáëü

    You must change this line from this: pchar.Ship.Name = xiDStr("StartShip"); to this: pchar.Ship.Name = (pchar);

    You also must go into RESOURCE\INI\texts\russian\dialoguesource and change StartShip {Windchaser} to StartShip {}

    Thanks for the help. It is done now and has a solution.
     
  5. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,581
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You're setting your ship name to the 'reference' to the player character there. I sincerely doubt the game could make any sense of that.
    But if it works for you, so be it. Apparently CoAS is weirder than I thought. :shrug
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2015

Share This Page