1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Fixed Stormy Start on Hispaniola

Discussion in 'Build Mod Bug Tracker' started by Grey Roger, Dec 11, 2017.

  1. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,774
    If you do a Stormy Start and are sent to Hispaniola, you pretty well have to cheat to get to your ship.

    Hispaniola has four beaches. Boca de Yuman connects to Santo Domingo; Boca de Hubon connects to Port au Prince: Cape Francos and Ile de Vache don't connect to any town; and none of them connect to any other beach. So the only way to get to your ship is by fast travel, which sort of defeats the whole idea of having to search for the ship. (I started at Boca de Yuman. The ship was at Ile de Vache.)
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Didn't @Jack Rackham fix something like that a whole ago?
    It sounds extremely familiar; maybe he still knows the details?
    It's probably mentioned on the forum somewhere as well.

    Should just be a simple one-line change in both_reaction.c .

    Is this the Standard or Free Play storyline? Maybe the fix made it only in one of those two?
     
  3. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,774
    This was FreePlay.
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  5. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,774
    Found it. @Jack Rackham did indeed apply the same fix to both "standard" and "FreePlay", but his fix (as indicated by comments, at least) was only for "Hispaniola_shore_02":
    Code:
                   case 12:
                       loadPort = "Hispaniola_shore_01";
                       loadTown = "Hispaniola_shore_01";
                       rldLocator = "reload1";
                   break;
    
                   case 13:
                       loadPort = "Hispaniola_shore_02"; // JRH: was Hispaniola_shore_03, but ship nowhere to be found
                       loadTown = "Hispaniola_shore_02"; // JRH: so not separated from ship anymore
                       rldLocator = "reload1";
                   break;
    That's from the "standard" version. This is case 12 in "FreePlay":
    Code:
                   case 12:
                       loadPort = "Hispaniola_shore_04"; // PB (separated from ship)
                       loadTown = "Hispaniola_shore_01";
                       rldLocator = "reload1";
                   break;
    That fits. "Hispaniola_shore_01" is Boca de Yuman, "Hispaniola_shore_04" is Ile a Vache. I'll change it to be the same as the "standard" version, unless you object, since putting the ship at Ile a Vache seems to have been your idea. :p
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Ah, that explains it. :onya

    It seems to have been a bad idea! :rofl

    The intention was to have you separated from your ship, which I think was also there in @CouchcaptainCharles' or @konradk's original concept.
    But with me being too unfamiliar with the specifics, it didn't occur to me that those locations are unconnected.
    If you can maintain that original intention in an actually playable way, that would be very welcome.
    If not, then playability prevails. Of course. ;)
     
  7. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,774
    On Hispaniola, I don't think it's possible unless you want either the ship or the player to start in port. Which, incidentally, already happens on Puerto Rico - there is no other beach for the ship to go, so you're on the beach and your ship is in town.

    So I could change case 12 to put you on Boca de Yuman and your ship in Santo Domingo. And, for that matter, case 13 could change so that you're at Boca de Hubon and your ship is in Port au Prince, probably the most challenging option since there are several jungle locations in between. Take the wrong turn and you end up in Buccaneers Camp. Take the really wrong turn and you end up in Port au Prince fort...
     
    Levis likes this.
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Ship in port is actually not such a bad idea, is it?
    I don't object. :cheeky
     
  9. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,860
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sounds to me like a good fix :).
     
  10. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,774
    This is going into both the "standard" and "FreePlay" versions of "both_reaction.c":
    Code:
                   case 12:
                       loadPort = "Santo_Domingo_port";   // Ship to Santo Domingo
                       loadTown = "Hispaniola_shore_01";   // Player to Boca de Yuman
                       rldLocator = "reload1";
                   break;
    
                   case 13:
                       loadPort = "PoPrince_Port";       // Ship to Port au Prince
                       loadTown = "Hispaniola_shore_02";   // Player to Boca de Hubon
                       rldLocator = "reload1";
                   break;
    I've tested it by changing the 'switch(rand(STORMY_START_CHOICES) )' line to 'switch(12)' and running a stormy start, then doing it again with 'switch(13)'. Both times I spawned correctly on the relevant beach and the ship was in port where it was supposed to be.
     
    Levis and Pieter Boelen like this.
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  12. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,774
    Update: Cayman has a similar problem. If you land at Eden Rock then your ship is at Sand Bluff, but you can't walk to Sand Bluff. So both versions of "both_reaction.c" which will be in the next update are changed so that, if you land at Eden Rock, your ship is at Cayman Kai, and vice versa. You can walk between those two, via Grand Cayman - the landward gate from town leads to one, and the path from the port leads to the other.
     
    Mad Jack Wolfe and Pieter Boelen like this.

Share This Page