1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release Audio Patch for AoP2

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by LordDrow, May 30, 2009.

  1. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Okay folks, from what I've found there is an update to the sound system used in AoP 2.

    1) Go to <a href="http://www.fmod.org/index.php/download" target="_blank">http://www.fmod.org/index.php/download</a>

    2) Download the newest version of the FMod EX dev kit

    3) Install the dev kit with admin rights

    4) Wait for all the install insanity to finish, this will take a few minutes

    5) Go to the dev kit install directory and COPY the FModex.dll from the API directory to your install directory for AoP2, you can back up the original file, but it shouldn't really be necessary

    6) Start the game and that SHOULD fix most of the audio problems you've been having.

    7) Enjoy!!

    Cap'n Drow
     
  2. Sordid

    Sordid Utterly inexcusable! Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    855
    Gender:
    Male
    Edit: Nevermind. Brain fart.
     
  3. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Hmmmm? I guess I missed your question or statement, but carry on then. **grins**

    Cap'n Drow
     
  4. Bismarck

    Bismarck Sailor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    The game is quite stable. Only seldom it crashes. The problem: "start.exe".
    Does that have anything to do with the sound system? I remember the crashes from AoP saying that fmod caused it.
     
  5. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Start.exe is the same as engine.exe in the previous games.

    Cap'n Drow
     
  6. Tahlendorf

    Tahlendorf Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Problem here, downloaded the FMOD Ex Programmers API for Windows-32bits, copy the fmodex.dll file from C:\Program Files\FMOD SoundSystem\FMOD Programmers API Win32\api to Age of Pirates 2 game folder, try to launch the game and get an error message (translated from spanish WinVista OS message):
    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Missing entry point of procedure ?getCPUUsage@System@FMOD@@QAG?AW4FMOD_RESULT@@PAM000@Z in the dynamic links library fmodex.dll<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Then I press OK and SoundService.dll is skipped... no more tickings on sound, just pure and crystal SILENCE, no sounds in the game (only in the intro videos) <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/sad.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":(" border="0" alt="sad.gif" />o)
    What´s wrong?

    <b>BEST REGARDS</b>
     
  7. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    I believe you copied it into the wrong directory. That file should go into the games root directory with the games executable. Sounds like you put it into the modules directory.

    Delete it from modules and make sure it is copied to root directory.

    You can either rename the original file or just overwrite it.

    The other thing you will want to check, there are both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of the dev kit, AoP2 uses the 32 bit version ONLY. I have no clue what will happen if you've tried the 64 bit.

    Cap'n Drow
     
  8. Tahlendorf

    Tahlendorf Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    I Downloaded the 32bit version (this <a href="http://www.fmod.org/index.php/release/version/fmodapi42508win32-installer.exe" target="_blank">ONE</a>, the Development labelled one), and copied the fmodex.dll library from C:\Program Files\FMOD SoundSystem\FMOD Programmers API Win32\api to the root directory, same place as start.exe....
    Lucky me I made a copy of the original, with the newer version I got the the missing-entry in the dll and the SoundService is skipped (don´t know why, because they´re different DLLs on different folders).

    Should I try the "Stable" version 4.24.08?

    <b>BEST REGARDS</b>

    EDIT - The <a href="http://www.fmod.org/index.php/release/version/fmodapi42408win32-installer.exe" target="_blank">Stable 4.24.08</a> version worked like a charm. Game started perfectly! Seems the the new Development version 4.25.08 is not fully compatible. THANKS!

    Maybe this post could be useful on the "Technical Help" SubForum... maybe pinned too...
     
  9. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Good deal, I was starting to wonder what might be causing the trouble. So the stable version is the one to go with, and nix the development version of it.

    It may be that the development version is missing functionality that is normally enabled in the production version of the .dll.

    Thank for letting us know what you found!

    Cap'n Drow
     
  10. Fred Bob

    Fred Bob Shrimping Fool Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,902
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Louisiana Bayous to the Gulf of Mexico
    Perhaps we oughta be a postin' de single <b>FModex.dll </b>file, what ye thinks, mateys? <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/unsure.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":?" border="0" alt="unsure.gif" />
     

    Attached Files:

  11. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Nice going, Fred Bob. Ye beat me to the punch, mate!

    Cap'n Drow
     
  12. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Somebody should make a sticky with recommended downloads and links and tips for interesting stuff.
     
  13. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Pinned to keep this sucker where it is easy to see!

    Cap'n Drow
     
  14. Anubis1Anpu

    Anubis1Anpu Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Greetings all,
    I came across this thread by searching for a method by which I could eliminate the horrendous crackling that seems to pervade AoP2. I was saddened by inability to remediate it by applying the suggestions found here. Using the latest version of the Fmodex.dll found in this thread or on the designer's webpage was to no avail. I am using an Audigy 2 ZS card operating with Vista 64; any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

    I have the honour &c.,
    Anubis
     
  15. Marinx

    Marinx Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    <!--quoteo(post=324973:date=Jun 4 2009, 01:07 AM:name=Fred Bob)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Fred Bob @ Jun 4 2009, 01:07 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=324973"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Perhaps we oughta be a postin' de single <b>FModex.dll </b>file, what ye thinks, mateys? <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/unsure.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":?" border="0" alt="unsure.gif" /><!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    This file doesn't fix sound issues at least for me.
    Any ideas?

    EDIT

    Idea came to me. I'll try lower hardware acceleration of my sound card, maybe it'll help. In some other games this worked fine. I'll let you know if this work.
     
  16. r0b3rt0

    r0b3rt0 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Greets,

    unfortunetly, this solution doesn't work for me. Tried the file from the post above and also installed 32 and 64bit version of FMod but the annoying sound issue is still there. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/dunno.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":shrug" border="0" alt="dunno.gif" /> Im using vista 64bit and sb audigy se. A bottle of rum for anyone who knows how to fix it!
     
  17. ebenholzjunge

    ebenholzjunge Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    sorry for my bad english, from german <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />


    go to in the "engine.ini" and change "UseMM = 1" to "UseMM = 0" and sound is good. also works with the original old FModex.dll file. change the FModex.dll file brought me nothing. have fun <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />
     
  18. r0b3rt0

    r0b3rt0 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Checked it and it fixed the problem in my case. Thanks a lot mate! <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/bow.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":bow" border="0" alt="bow.gif" /> Now I can really plunder and pillage without being disturbed!!
     
  19. Handel

    Handel Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    488
    I tried everything ns nothing helped. Sounds are still missing and which is worse this causes significant delays when using command menue icons and sometimes very big delays when firing the cannons... (Win XP)
    Any ideas?


    Update: The last stable version for 32 bit Windows crashes the sound at all.
     
  20. fredadog10

    fredadog10 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    ok the single dll i downloaded from this topic managed to fix the problem. and 5 minutes later it came back :(
     

Share This Page