1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Need Help Boring sound bug, no solution

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Benouyt, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. Benouyt

    Benouyt HoO Team Member Provisional

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello,

    i just reinstalled AoP2 then, long time ago i didn't play it, and what a bad surprise when i go for sailing the sound cut in and out, when i move camera it become not listenable. Also i don't hear any sea sound, wave or anything.

    I have the Fmodex.dll but it skip it on loading and it wrote "interface function not found"

    EDIT: that was cause Fmodex.dll was in modules folder, but the problem still here. I noticed that i got that problem only when i use GOF historical eras mod 2

    I like this game so much but i dont know how fix it. My soundcar is a soundblaster x fi and i'm on windows 7, tried the useMM = 0 fix too. :/

    Thanks by advance for your help
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  2. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a SoundBlaster Z and the sounds work fine. The waves splash and the rigging creaks. :shrug
     
  3. Benouyt

    Benouyt HoO Team Member Provisional

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Huhu, yes, i tried with my onboard soundcard too and got same problem. After some test the bug is due to the GOF historical era's mod, so i don't have any idea how fix it, and from where it can come. :/

    There is something with the crosshair, when the crosshair disapear, sound and lantern light disapear

    EDIT: im installing Build 14 for POTC, and just see in installation instruction to add the game in exception list of ffdshow. I dont know if i should do same for CoaS maybe its the cause of the problem, i'll try after redownload and reinstall the mod -.-
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2013
  4. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    Sound works pretty good in my game. If you try different fmodex files you might get better results...especially if you have an older computer.

    MK
     
  5. Benouyt

    Benouyt HoO Team Member Provisional

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for your answers, i tried different fmodex.dll but still get the same problem. About the save and quit then restart stuff you told on the other topic, sound are okay before i do that, except they disapear while crosshair disapear, then when i load again, wind and sound like that disapear, just crackling sound is here

    I'm gonna try exclusion on ffdshow
     
  6. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    I have never had the problems you mention. What kind of system are you using?
     
  7. Benouyt

    Benouyt HoO Team Member Provisional

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    My computer is a good computer using windows 7 64 and my sound system is a 5.1, i tried in stereo but the problem is the same
     
  8. Benouyt

    Benouyt HoO Team Member Provisional

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Here some news, now i got splash sound and things like that, water sound seems to be fine then but still sound still disapear when crosshair disapear (light of ships disapear too x) )

    Do you have idea on wich fmodex.dll use ?
     
  9. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    Wait. Sounds, crosshair, and ship lights all disappear? This is a bigger problem than just sounds. How much ram do you have?
     
  10. Benouyt

    Benouyt HoO Team Member Provisional

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    8 gig of ram, but when i mean crosshair disapear is just you know when moving cam on first person on ship,you got crosshair on left, front, right, and rear of the ship, well the sound and ships lantern disapear when crosshair isn't visible. I noticed that little wind sound still listenable when all other sound disapear
     
  11. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh. Still that should have nothing to do with sounds.
     
  12. Jaquotte Delahaye

    Jaquotte Delahaye Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Mega-Necro post - but to anyone else having these problems - specifically with ERAS mods.

    I know exactly what Benouyt means having experienced it myself. After a little tinkering the best work around I've found so far - it's not perfect, but a welcome improvement - is this:

    - Open up "sound_alias.ini" (RESOURCE\INI\aliases\sound_alias.ini)
    - find the line [ship_water_lugger]
    - change the minDistance and max Distance both to 0.0

    Do the same for [ship_water_corvette] , [ship_water_frigate] , [ship_water_lineship] and [ship_water_manowar] in the subsequents lines of code if you are sailing something bigger than a class 6-7 ship and still suffering from this sound problem.

    Ships_init.c (Program\Ships\Ships_init.c) will tell you what "refship.Soundtype" your current ship is using.

    This partial fix isnt perfect - sound still flickers from left to right, but it is at least constant with no horrible cut-out in the reticule dead-zones ;)
     
  13. Captain Hog

    Captain Hog Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    I'm not sure if this will work, but it certainly fixes the audio white noise bug:

     

Share This Page