1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release Build 14 Beta 4.0 Public Release

Discussion in 'POTC: New Horizons Mod' started by Pieter Boelen, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. Coben

    Coben Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Heyho pieter nice to know u, this mod was really great for playing along, but there's one problem for me, i didn't had full characters like ur said, only standart plus ardent n goldbug? Is this right or maybe i got it wrong from yhe installation? Iwish u note this pieter thank u
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I do not know what that message means.
    There are several different storylines.
    And for the Free Play one, if you click your character portrait, you can choose from a whole bunch of other ones instead.
     
  3. Jason

    Jason Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    Messages:
    2,733
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    I am having trouble updating the game with the April 2 version. I was very successful updated my desktop and I have downloaded both of files to the laptop and put them in the same folder, but the extension of data pack is .tar and the installer doesn't appear to recognize it. Can you help.
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    What message does the Installer EXE give?
     
  5. Jason

    Jason Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    Messages:
    2,733
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    It says "main archive file not present . place beta4_final.tar in the folder to continue. I had the March 26 cab so that probably explains it. right? I am in hotels all week so I may not be able to download this until next week.

    I noticed on the May 16 update you call for the March 31 cab file is that any different?
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The correct version is indeed dated 31 March 2016.

    Try to rename it manually to ".tar".

    If your version isn't the correct one, the Installer EXE should give you a warning about that and refuse to install.
     
  7. Jason

    Jason Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    Messages:
    2,733
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Good, Thanks
     
  8. Jason

    Jason Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    Messages:
    2,733
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Got it Thanks again.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  9. Skyworm

    Skyworm Privateer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Cheers Gents,

    just a question:
    Does this work under Windows 10?

    Thanks!
     
  10. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Ahoy there, good to see you again! :cheers

    I know there are people who have played the mod on Windows 10, yes. :yes
     
  11. Skyworm

    Skyworm Privateer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Ahoy Pieter! :aar

    Just looking into before doing a major update.
    I still have lots of real life actually, don't know when I will play again. But I'll stay in contact!

    :rumgone
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  12. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    There should be another WIP one coming here this weekend:
    Mod Release - Build 14 Beta 4.1 WIP | PiratesAhoy!

    I've been having the same issue with finding time for some proper modding. It's been.... quite busy lately. :confused:
     
  13. MrMundy

    MrMundy Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
  14. ANSEL

    ANSEL Corsair Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Artist,Painter
    Location:
    Viborg.Denmark
    @MrMundy You can do it in the installer, look pic.

    Udklip.PNG
     
  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    What box are you referring to?
    The only way to enable/disable ENB is by installing or uninstalling it.
     
  16. MrMundy

    MrMundy Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh alright, I ment this box: (The Grey one)[​IMG]
    (Which doesnt work, but if it aint the box for ENB its irrelevant I suppose)
    ENB isnt working for me though. I first installed it together with the initial instalation of the Version from the 2nd of April, but that didnt do anything. Uninstalling and installing again didnt work either.

    @ANSEL did that, didnt work though. Does it work for anyone else (I have to assume so highly, overwise it propably wouldnt be in the installer :D)
     
  17. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I don't even have that box in my Config.exe . That definitely has nothing to do with ENB anyway.

    It has worked fine for me for years.
    You can tell that it works by the light green text in the upper left corner of the screen when you start the game.
    It should be a simple matter of installing it along with the mod. If that doesn't work, I have no clue how to make it work.
    It isn't actually a huge improvement anyway; there are plenty of people who don't even like it at all and deliberately don't use it.
     
  18. MrMundy

    MrMundy Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    I guess I did something wrong while installing the mod, which I did (try) multible times since I extracted the files the first few times rather then just using the .rar folder.
    I will just reeinstall the game+mod and shredder all the remaining files completly when I start my next playthrough, I am currently enjoying my Ironman merchant playthrough, despite me having taken the wrong route twice and going off to Cuba rather then Barbados after visiting guadeloupe :confused:
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  19. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  20. Skyworm

    Skyworm Privateer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Cheers Gentlemen,

    unfortunately, I don't get it installed. I downloaded both parts from Moddatabase. Put them all into a folder. Fresh-installed the game into another folder.
    Then followed the install instructions on Moddatatbase.
    When I started the exe, it told me that it can't instal because part 2 ist not in the same folder. But it is. *swear*

    Any ideas?
     

Share This Page