• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Cannons/boarding/aggro issues

KongSuo

Landlubber
I've noticed a series of weird issues that crop up from time to time, and all seem to be related, at least to my unweathered eye. In no particular order (and sorry ahead of time if they sound confusing, I'm a novice at "bug reporting"),

Issue 1: I remapped aimed shot to the spacebar from V (probably irrelevant, but still). The cannons don't necessarily always fire when I ask them to, though. Was just playing to fiddle with the sound options as alluded to in a different thread, and my ship simply would not fire. At all. It was an allied ship, but that shouldn't make a difference, should it? Edit: second part of this was my fault. Deleting the options file removed keymaps and didn't think about that.

Issue 1.5 semi-edit: Firing arcs are hilariously small. Like an inch and a half, if I'm lucky, and that's on a 52 in. screen. Another realism thing, I'm guessing?

Issue 2: Boarding. I can't board grey or green ships, but only red or previously red but surrendered ships. This seems like just a realism thing on the surface, so just wondering about it. It works fine when I run up the roger, but even a pirate who turns grey and is trying to escape a losing battle can't be boarded until he surrenders once he turns grey, and that just seems a little odd.

Issue 3: When a ship is grey, I can sit there and unload multiple broadsides with no effect in its aggro condition. It just sits there and takes it. This is the one issue where I was specifically running the white flag (the one next to my personal colors), so I assume that has something to do with it?

Last edited: