1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Tutorial Editing and Exporting Models with Maya

Discussion in 'Ship Modeling' started by Armada, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. Alloppatalle

    Alloppatalle Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Did you accurately read the tutorial? Because everything you need to know is there...

    After you import the object in Maya, you must create a locator, leave it in its default state, and set it as the parent of your object.
    Then you select just the locator in the Persp/Outliner, go to File > Export Selection, set the options you need and export your object.

    If everything goes well, you should be able to see your object in the GM Viewer.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2016
  2. TechnicJelle

    TechnicJelle has got VACATION!!! Provisional Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    School (A lot!)
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    But why do I need a locator?
    And how do I add one?
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The answer depends on what you're trying to do.
    So what are you trying to do?
     
  4. TechnicJelle

    TechnicJelle has got VACATION!!! Provisional Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    School (A lot!)
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    Put it in PotC, as a still-standing nothing-doing object.
     
  5. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Use the TOOL that I posted the link to on the previous page.
    If you don't know how to use it, it so happens that somebody who does is coming to your place. ;)
     
  6. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Could be me. :wp
     
    Pieter Boelen and TechnicJelle like this.
  7. TechnicJelle

    TechnicJelle has got VACATION!!! Provisional Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    School (A lot!)
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    I wanted to try it, this weekend but I am sick. Ugh...
     
  8. MrMundy

    MrMundy Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Where can you download Maya? I cant find it anywhere, but I would love to make the Napoleonic French Units some proper uniforms.

    Posting here because I dont know where else. Typical.
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    A lot of that might be possible through texturing.

    @Jack Rackham and @Grey Roger are pretty good at customizing character models even without using Maya.
     
  10. MrMundy

    MrMundy Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    I am afriad you cant recolour a Tricon into a Shako. (or I have indeed even less of an idea about modding this game then I thought :D)
     
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Jack Rackham knows tricks to add bits of geometry to the models, I think.
    That might be an option.
     
  12. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Yes but only if I already have got a model of something looking like a shako. But not all models
    are compatible. If you could search for a .gm model on internet I could always try.
     

Share This Page