• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Solved NEWBIE THREAD, GETTING STARTED RIGHT

Grant

Landlubber
Hey guys, I'm as green as it gets and I've got a few questions that I bet have already been answered before in other threads but It's nice to have new and updated ways of getting what I've asked done.

I've just ordered Age of Pirates 2 and I've been looking around at mods and things and my question is.

Whats the best things to get to play this game to its full potential in terms of mods and patches to get the game running the best it can be.
Oh and as far as my computer specs, I'll probably going to buy a Alienware laptop which will have Windows 7 on it.

Also tutorials would help a lot because I'm really new to this which include how to install the mods/patches right.

Thanks, Grant

I've been looking around to get an idea for the game and came across this post as well as others. Im expecting it in the post in the next few weeks, do I still need a 'nocd' patch? And the drivers?

As far as mods, 'Gentlemen of Fortune' seems to be the one, but from what i can tell 1.32 is unstable and the people involved in the 2.0 beta havent been seen on the forums for a while.

Do i need mods? Is the stock game playable?

Thanks,

Conor.

As far as I always understood it, out of the three games PotC, AoP and CoAS, the release version of CoAS indeed IS very playable.
In my experience, so was PotC. But that's a different story. :cheeky

Thanks. So no official patches i need?

i see the 'combined mod' too, it says it fixed loads of gamebreaking bugs.

Still trying to make it better, of course! :cheeky