• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Need Help Opening GM files

fjx

Promotion
Storm Modder
I really don't know where to post this thread so sorry if it's not proper forum part. The problem is pure technical. I'm looking for a program that can can open GM files (character models and more). It must be downloadable for free. You, modders must use something to open these files. Maybe you can give me a link?
Thanks in advantage.:dance
fjx

Great thanks to you but...well...in the GM viewer models are all gray and in the tool they're white on blue background. I want to see the colourful models. Sorry but I'm a newbie at modding and I need your help.:bounce:read

GMViewer is a "dumb" program and you have to lead it to the files it needs to use. First you have to lead it to your POTC install and find the ships. It sounds like you did that.
Next you have to lead it to your texture files. That is done in the next box down. The path is - POTC--->resource--->textures--->ships. The you get full color.

The TOOL needs a folder with .tga texture files for the models. (not tga.tx like in the game)
So you have to convert the texture files from tx to tga with the TX-converter.
Place them in a folder. (In my example below that folder is placed in the game)
Now open the VrmlImExporter.ini (in the TOOL folder) and change or add the adress something like this example:

C:\Program\Bethesda Softworks\Game Beta2-3 GB 950
C:\Program\Bethesda Softworks\Game Beta2-3 GB 950\Resource\Textures\Characters tga
chkAddX=True
chkAddToScene=False
chkDropLocations=False
AutoSetTextureDir=False
chkReverseNormals=True
chkChangeYZ=False

Can you explain me step by step HOW TO VIEW COLORFUL MODELS IN GM VIEWER? I's really important to me.:diomed

Ok, it is not that hard to do.