• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Script Programmer and Technical UDK-stuff

Hammie

Storm Engine developer
Staff member
Storm Modder
I really like the idea of making a pirate RPG/simulator using the UDK, so I really want to help making it.

I am a programmer, including Unrealscript, and would love to help with the more technical stuff for the project. I can also create models and textures etc. but these are not as good as I wish they were.

In my experience everything done in the current build mod is possible in UDK, plus a lot more. I've already had lot of ideas on how to do things so I can already do some case testing...

I have read the main focus is realistic water and ship movement so I have been doing some testing with waves. I will give an update on my progress when I have some presentable examples.
Since I don't have any real-life sailing experience I don't know how a ship should behave and thus don't know the requirements...

I'm glad that we'll be able to get this to work on the new engine. I would generally agree that ship behavior in our mods (My only personal experience is with GoF) is very accurate, with some exceptions. For example, when a large ship is sailing through small swells ingame, you get a pronounced jerking motion that the inertia of the ship should prevent. I think we should implement heeling over with the wind (If you want me to explain in more detail I can) but I suspect that that will come later.

If your time frame allows, I can also bring back video footage from my next sail on Pilgrim. I should be back September ninth or so.

You may want to take a look at these:
(You might want to contact MK- he's modifying the water for his upcoming eras mod. It's much more realistic than what we have right now.)
My Pilgrim Stuff