• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Some questions about manual aiming, logs and other observations

JackOfOwls

Powder Monkey
Though I'm a total newbie at it, never having even played the vanilla game, I've been playing POTC:NH obsessively over the last few days and finding it frustratingly difficult (as it should be, considering the 101-level shite that passes for PC gaming these days) and my pride will not allow me to select "Apprentice" (Daddy, Can I Play?) difficulty so I'm making things extra difficult by playing on "Journeyman" and it's kicking me in the junk. I can't get anywhere. In sea battles, should I be using manual aiming (V key)? Is it turned on or off by default in the build I'm using (3.4)?

Sometimes I'm broadside of a ship I wish to pirate, the target cuticle turns red, I press the BOOM! button, and... nothing happens. Needless to say, I'm sitting there with my big baboon buttocks hanging out, exposed, then the enemy fires all 20+ guns and blows my masts & my ass away. Was it possible most of my starboard or port guns were taken out? Sometimes in the heat of battle I don't read the messages. Speaking of which, is there a way to check the message logs (btw, can the font and color be changed in config files, btw? It's kind of small and the color can be hard on the eyes sometimes) so I can analyze what went wrong in a battle and why I'm now dwelling in Davy Jones' locker?

One more thing: sometimes I successfully empty my cannons on an enemy but there's no sound or explosion animations from my weapons but I know they fired. Is this normal?

There was a problem with cannons not firing during one release, and it was fixed. If you're playing Beta 3.4, be sure to get the update at the end of:
http://www.piratesahoy.net/threads/build-14-beta-3-4-release.24486/