• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Solved Fix for Intel Graphics Card problems (Laptop NVidia users)

MMSchaffels

Landlubber
Hi guys, although I'm new to the forums I have been playing stock POTC and the Build Mods since the day they were released and I have enjoyed them greatly. Since I bought a new laptop (yes, Windows 7 and Intel Graphics Card combined with a NVidia Graphics Card) I was unfortunately unable to play this game (it honestly hurt the child within me for a moment).

Now I am not one to give up easily and that is why I have been searching all around the forums for about two days and I had not been able to find a solution to the dreaded problem (I believe mainly new laptop users) have experienced: the integrated Intel Graphics Card.

Now I am not that good with hardware, so I spent some more time chasing the clue that people offered on this forum about 'activating' your NVidia Graphics Card instead of using the Intel Graphics Card and I stumbled upon this very helpful thread about someone who experienced the same problems using Steam to play games.

This was the solution given, I tested it on my laptop and it works like a charm! It is not that difficult and only costs a minute. :)
  1. Go to the NVIDIA Control Panel by right clicking on your desk top and clicking on "NVIDIA Control Panel".
  2. In the default screen that pops up (it should be "manage 3D settings", and the "Program Settings" tab should be automatically selected), under "1. Select a program to customize:" hit the "Add" button.
  3. From here, navigate to the folder where your POTC is located.
  4. Select the folder for the game you want to use your NVIDIA card for, and find the .exe for that game (it's usually right in the main game folder). Select it and hit open.