1. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  3. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  4. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release Gentlemen Of Fortune 2.0

Discussion in 'City of Abandoned Ships Mods' started by Luke159, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. DarthSCG

    DarthSCG Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    another 100 and u can do hit and run tactics :ninja

    awww :(

    u'll be able to toggle this on/off right?

    hehe does he revert back to england at the end of the game or if u choose to get married? xD
     
    Luke159 likes this.
  2. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Not exactly, because 4Ibs cannon can reach 500 and Culverines 600. The 32Ibs culverine can reach 750 which is the same distance as the 48Ibs cannons. So you can do hit and run tactics with the bigger ships, but not the smaller ones.



    No not yet, but i was thinking about making it so you could. Perhaps linking it to realistic spyglass for now.

    Update:
    This has now been done and is worked in with the spyglass, if you have realistic spyglass on then you have the new compass and if you have realistic spyglass off then you get the default spyglass. If you are in sailing mode and decide to change to the other compass then you have to enter the world map, island or go bellow deck anything so that a loading screen comes up to reset the compass (the files related to this are not accessed via the reinit function so its pointless using that).


    Yes he can, if he purchase a letter of marque from the pirates or builds his sneak skill up to the point that he can enter every town the English own and be able to do general quests for the governor.
     
  3. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Ok i have decided after testing that this is isn't causing any problems from what i can see so its ready for beta testing. This patch already includes the first patch "2.0.1". Link can also be found in the first post.:)

    http://www.mediafire.com/?7g552o1od1ug3c2
     
  4. DarthSCG

    DarthSCG Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    well i installed the 2.0.2 patch and started a new game with Blood to check if the nation change works..

    well it does but i cant say i'm too pleased about it

    [​IMG]

    tried to dock at Martinique but the french saw through me right away...

    now starting as a pirate with this kind of ship is a real handicap and i would rly love to keep her but i'm afraid it will be simply too much of a headache for me( no more "bonus" starting points either.. u rly like livin hardcore mate XD )
    now for some bugs:

    - from the image above the speak icon is still not right and now a new icon appears next to it that u cant select

    - also i have disabled the spyglass mod but the compass still remains in place of the radar (maybe a separate option might be better?). and the problem with this mod is not rly the wind direction or where the enemy is but rather the lack of the cannon range arcs... without it ull be using ur spyglass to determine the range a lot and maybe some ppl are not so into that

    [​IMG]

    - as u can see here there's still some blue frigate syndrome left. but this is the model used for the boarding part of the starting quest not the real ship

    [​IMG]

    - at the bottom u can see that even though i can select every option it will always show "both". this bug is not present for the ships cargo trading menu tho so that works fine

    - cannon reloading mod description is still confusing. and a lil typo at the ship surrender option :)

    [​IMG]

    -also noticed Blood starts with a Class 7 Lugger called "error" b4 u get the spanish ship and u can go to the pier at the start and board it and u will begin to sink and that's that :D

    [​IMG]

    this one is from GOF 1.2 which is also what u see in vanilla :

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Lol, well it makes sence that you are seen as a pirate since you ascaped from slavery, killed some gaurds and killed gaurds onboard the ship aswell as stole the ship. Thats why i thourght it be a little dumb that after you you manage to escape the 2 Luggers you can enter back into the the exact town you had just escaped from. Maybe harder but if you attack small ships (with the crew sizes) you have a big advantage and can easily start to make money by selling the ships you capture aswell as purchase a letter of marque for which ever nation you desire.

    When you switch between realistic spyglass on or off you must either go on land, or go bellow deck for the change to the compass to take effect, if you simply switch between one option and the other it won't change on till you do something that needs a loading screen such as board a enemy ship exit to world map and back to sail mode.

    I have figured out how to change the fliter option from set to "show both" to show what you have in your back pack and onboard your ship as the default fliter, you can then of cause use the other filter options if you wish but when you go back to see what the store owner has it will show what you have onboard or in your back pack.

    The filters for the iteams was missing a little code, so i have fixed that now, so you won't be able to select all the filters as you have done in the imagie you posted.

    Not sure about the Lugger error, i haven't modified any code for the quests other than the ships you can use for the Edward Low quest and the fact that after taking the Arabella completing the Peter Blood quest you become a pirate.
     
  6. DarthSCG

    DarthSCG Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    well to add to that i also had a bounty on my head from the english for not returning the money to the moneylender :D

    i didn't mean to criticize the idea of starting as a pirate since this is what the "actual" captain Blood did after he renamed the ship to Arabella and set off with it. but i was lookin at it from the new player's perspective.. having to lug it around with u with those penalties at the beginning since ur navigation skill sux or giving it to an officer if u manage to get another ship is also costly until u get to a port control so u can store it. and getting rid of it is rly sad :(

    so i guess starting a new game with the option off doesn't count?

    btw i added more pics to the previous post
     
  7. MarKr

    MarKr Comodor jackass

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    Would it be possible to give at least some goods to a new game that you could sell? Because a player starts with minimal crew and hull damaged at 50%. When you repair it and hire some crew you barely have any money left. You can't start shipping goods, because you don't have money to buy anything, you can't work for local store owner, because they mostly have larger shipments than your starting ship can carry and the ship is so small that most of the pirates kill you during boarding because their ships carry more crew than yours...I know that the start is suppoesed to hard but a little extra money (2 or 3k) wouldn't make it much more easier, yet it would left more options open for the player...
     
  8. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    @ DarthSCG
    If i can find out where the skills are Jerry Pitt are located i could increase his nav skill so that you don't have any penaulties (which Peter Blood did keep the Arabella so they could obviously sail her). I know you wasn't critizing the idea bud, sorry if i came off strong in my reply.:onya

    Yes starting a new game with the spyglass off should make you use the default compass.

    @ MarKr

    I could increase the starting money by 2 or 3k if that would help?


    Update:
    I have found the skills for Pitt, however it'll need to be tested. But i will get the changes uploaded in a few minutes along with the other changes i have made like 3k more starting money.
     
  9. MarKr

    MarKr Comodor jackass

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    I think it would be better but it's just my opinion ;-)
     
  10. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    No its ok bud, i have made the start of the game more challenging by removing all goods and free points. So a little boost to the sxtarting money isn't a big problem and kind of balances the changes out.:onya

    I have now done the changes so that you start with 600 for characters which start with randomly generated ships, those who start with ships like Jack Sparrow starts with the Pearl, they have had some changes. Norriginton starts with 4000 (didn't start with any originally) Lucky Jack (who wasn't so lucky after all because he started with nothing) now starts with 4000 and Red Leg Greaves starts with 5000.

    Pitt's nav skill is now 65 (requires testing) which will allow him to sail class 3 ships like the Arabella.

    Here is the link to the new patch, includes all past patches and link can also be found in the first post.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3d7hvu3meaxieta
     
  11. MarKr

    MarKr Comodor jackass

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    And one more thing I came across - in cities you can run into people who give you nautical quizes. One of them gave me for the right answer location of a statue, that is suppoesed to help me with ship repairs. In vanilla game it provided +30 to repairs, but since these statues, idols trinkets...whatever no longer provide any bonuses, it would be good to replace the statue with an equivalent book, or just something so the journey pays off... (I know you're trying to focus on balance, so this can be postponed)
     
  12. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    I thourght these had already been done in GOF 1.0, no matter if you tell me where this was that you was ment to find this trinket and i will look into replacing it with a book when for you.:onya
     
  13. MarKr

    MarKr Comodor jackass

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    Oh, shoot...I've reinstalled AoP several times in last two days and the character with this trinket is lost :-/ I'll send it to you as soon as I run into it again...
     
  14. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Ok bud, thanks.:onya
     
  15. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,642
    Gender:
    Male
    I finally got around to playing GOF2 last night. Wasted a lot of time wandering around looking for a map of the Caribbean before I thought to look in the box, where I found a paper map. :pirates This paper map will have a short unhappy life on my desk. Would it be possible to put it in the game? I have played POTC pretty much daily for over 2 1/2 years and still reference that map.

    Anyhoo, finally got out to sea in a ketch and noticed it has the high camera bug. Other than that it is a nice little starter ship. Did a trade mission no problem but then the merchant said my ship was too small, so now that I had data for 2 ports it was time for some smuggling. That worked well until the soldiers showed up. :duel: The smugglers took care of them and I set sail into a waiting sloop. We traded mortar salvos with no harm being done until I got away. I'm used to the flat trajectory cannons of POTC. :pirate41:
    Then went and got another trade mission to Tortuga. While pulling into port I noticed La Licorne in the distance. :keith This is the ship I am currently sailing in POTC and want to sail her in GOF2 also someday. The problem is that this is the old version with the high camera bug
    that has been fixed in the POTC version. So naturally I want to import her to GOF2 but really do not know the procedure. Could someone walk me through the procedure?
    I know this is a bad time to be adding ships so only intend this for my personal use until someone says to go ahead and add her to the lineup.
     
  16. DarthSCG

    DarthSCG Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    well than we got a problem here coz i started 2 games with it off yet i didn't see the radar back

    gonna test it. the only drawback will be that Pitt will just have to be ur navigator and nothing else since takin him out of the nav officer slot will give u the penalties again
     
  17. DarthSCG

    DarthSCG Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    there are 3 different quality versions of the general map at the item vendors. u could try the save/reload trick b4 talkin to a vendor if it doesnt appear the first time
     
  18. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    In that case i will add her, i have been a way for a long time so i don't know what ships have been fixed and what hasn't.

    My bad, i uploaded the patch without the files needed to make the compass change. The link is updated in the first post.

    But why would you need Pit for any other role?

    You can hire other officers for the other jobs and with the crew advantage and gun advantage over most ships in the early game you can easily capture new ships and sell them. Thats what i would do anyway.
     
  19. Armada

    Armada Sea Dog Staff Member Administrator Project Manager 3D Artist Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,971
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Game Design Student
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    I usually ignore most COAS-related threads, but this has caught my attention lately. It sounds like you've got a lot on your hands Luke, but I admire your push for stability as a priority. :cheers
    I wish I could help somehow, but I still don't have the game yet, and I have a lot still to do elsewhere on the forum.

    However, what I can do is advise you on the most recent versions of some ship models.
    I've made a lot of upgrades and fixes for various models in recent months, but I realise most of them only made it into the Build Mod. Then there's Hylie's extensive rigging work to consider, too.

    There's a description of sorts in this pinned thread in Storm Engine Modelling, though a lot of it can be ignored for simple model swaps.
     
  20. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Hey Armada

    Yeah i feel gilty in many respects because so many had been waiting for GOF 1.2 and when we release GOF 1.2 (not expacting any problems) we are hit with the stability of the game. It doesn't bother me on what version i work from (even from vanilla as a start over) i want to get a stable version out that has as much as possible from GOF 1.2 included. I know i have tweaked somethings in this version of GOF that GOF 1.2 doesn't have but i'm hopping that when its all said and done this version proves to be stable and takes the place of GOF 1.2.

    Obviously it would be nice to get some help, but i now alot is going on for many people so i don't expect modders and coders to come and flock to this beta version (as much as it would be nice lol). I admit i can't add new lines of coding and that might be what GOF 1.2 really needs is a revamp of a lot of coding, but for GOF 2.0 with focus been on stability i'm trying to avoid porting to much over from GOF 1.2 in case i make this version unstable when all along had i not ported a feature over then the game would have been stable. So once we now that this version is stable (fingures crossed) we can start to port little bits over at a time and test them out.

    But i thank you and hope that one day some modders are free and willing to help out, but on till that day i will continue to plug away in the hope that we can the mod stable and give everyone who likes COAS and wants to play with the mod a stable version in which to play with.
     

Share This Page