1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Installing Maya 5.0

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Pieter Boelen, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    So I tried to install Maya 5.0 from the FTP today, have been unable to figure out how to. Did anybody ever do it before? We need to make some sort of tutorial on installing Maya properly.

    Update: See installation instructions below.
    NOTE: Make sure you are connected to the Internet while installing to avoid potential verification issues (see here: Installing Maya 5.0 | Page 3 | PiratesAhoy!).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 5, 2017
  2. Darth-me

    Darth-me Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lost at sea...
    I did it...
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  4. Darth-me

    Darth-me Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lost at sea...
    I've forgotten, could you link to the download, then when i work it out I'll tell you.
     
  5. Darth-me

    Darth-me Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lost at sea...
    downloading...
     
  6. Zablar

    Zablar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have maya 5.0 installed :S
     
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Ok; so I somehow installed Maya and added the plugins. I don't know how to enable GrassGenerator and PatchCreator though. Anyway, I opened the Maya Frigate1 file and exported it to GM. Excluding the locators, I might add. The GM Viewer actually loaded it, so that's some sort of success. Then I tried to import the Interceptor OBJ file (after exporting with GM Viewer), but that didn't really get me any further.
     
  8. Darth-me

    Darth-me Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lost at sea...
    I can basically do everything up to xporting as GM, which doesn't seem to work.
     
  9. Zablar

    Zablar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    sory??

    I can't get the GM plugin to work, i export/import with 3ds max
     
  10. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I did manage to export a file to GM with Maya, but that was the Frigate1 model that was added as .mb file. Didn't manage to export anything else yet and the locators were missing.
     
  11. Zablar

    Zablar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    hmm, strange
     
  12. Inzane

    Inzane Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    to even convert a working gm file, alot of little things have to be in place. even with the tools it not as easy as you would think. Not having the plugin really has never been the problem,we have alaway had it. even the sample file are still vague. they don't answer a dam thing. they don't explain the process. I was hoping to have something to speed up the process. no such luck. So it leaves where I have always been.
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I had hoped that if we have a Maya file that exports properly, we can use that to import our ships into that file, then export properly and later fix the locators with Inez Dias' tool or something like that. Seems we'll be needing to ask Edward Zaitzev how to use those tools properly and how to fix the collision data on our new ships, such as the Interceptor.
     
  14. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Truth be told, I STILL don't know how to install this properly. Can somebody post a guide that we can sticky?
     
  15. ZarethPL

    ZarethPL HoO Team Member 3D Artist Storm Modeller

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    [attachment=3155:1.jpg]
    [attachment=3156:2.jpg]
    [attachment=3157:3.jpg]
    [attachment=3158:4.jpg]
    [attachment=3159:5.jpg]
    [attachment=3160:6.jpg]
    [attachment=3161:7.jpg]
    [attachment=3162:8.jpg]
    [attachment=3163:9.jpg]
    [attachment=3164:10.jpg]

    hope this helps :)

    EDIT 17/12/2012, by Armada: As the above image tutorial no longer shows up correctly, here is a temporary guide until we get a proper replacement.

    If you don't have a copy of Maya 5.0, please contact @Armada or @Pieter Boelen.

    You can download the export plug-in files here:
    http://www.piratesahoy.cloud/repository/Tools/Modeling+Texturing/Maya Plugins.zip

    Installation Instructions
    • Extract the Maya 5.0 files to a suitable location
    • Run 'Crack.exe' to generate a license key, and copy this number to the clipboard.
    • Run the Maya 5.0 installer; when prompted for a license key, paste the number generated with the crack.
    • Extract the plugin files to the Maya 5.0 folder.
    • To activate the plug-in, start Maya and go to Window -> Settings/Preferences -> Plug-in Manager, find SD2GeoExport and SD2AniExport and tick 'Loaded' and 'Auto-load' for both.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2016
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Certainly! Two more questions though:
    a. Which files from the FTP are you using? Then I'll remove the others to prevent confusion.
    b. How to add (and use?) the plugins properly?
     
  17. yo ho ho

    yo ho ho Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    a- the two files are the same.

    b- unzip and copy/paste it like the folder structure.
    you find it under C:/program/alias/maya5...
     
  18. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Thanks a lot. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/doff.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":doff" border="0" alt="doff.gif" />
     
  19. ZarethPL

    ZarethPL HoO Team Member 3D Artist Storm Modeller

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    that one is for the maya 5.0.1 thou should be the same for older ones
     
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    We should put this information somewhere in a sticky. Anyone got any idea what would be the best place to put it?
     

Share This Page