1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Solved Intel Graphics Fix

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by amplificar, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That's a bit weird, but you can try sailing from island to island with DirectSail and bypass the worldmap altogether.
    Does that work more smoothly?
     
  2. mercadeo

    mercadeo Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    haha no idea how to do that, i can onlu direct sail to close locations (beachs shores, caves, forts, etc), but the game usually crashes when "world map" is involved, traveling direct island to island I can do it, or dont know how--- its very annoying the crashing
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Using DirectSail is easy: Just point your ship in the direction of your destination and keep going. Use time compression as needed.
     
  4. Dylan Of Gibraltar

    Dylan Of Gibraltar Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    My pc laptop has an intel hd 3d but also nvidia gt 630 which i suppose links from the intel hd or it uses the intel as primary for lower stuff. Hope the errors are not due to this as my specs are quite high and its a gaming laptop with 8gb ram and a fast processor. Advise??
     
  5. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
  6. Dylan Of Gibraltar

    Dylan Of Gibraltar Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    could be the graphics card as original cracked game does'nt work either
     
  7. Dylan Of Gibraltar

    Dylan Of Gibraltar Sailor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks it works now the game at least the original,do let people with intel and nvidia both on same pc to do this fix for game to work.fuff
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I am replacing the fix version on the ModDB with a proper installer that also includes an uninstaller.
    This version is also compatible with all earlier versions AND Build 14, but of course only Build 14 will have the enhanced sea colours by Armada in use.
    Should be showing up on the ModDB soon.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  9. Armada

    Armada Sea Dog Staff Member Administrator Project Manager 3D Artist Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8,078
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Game Developer
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Good idea. :onya
     
  10. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Cheers. It took a bit of doing, but it is now finally submitted PROPERLY to the ModDB.
    Had some issues moving it from Downloads to Addons where the ENB fix is too. :facepalm
     
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  12. Bikes4life

    Bikes4life Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi im new to the forums (but not to PotC) and finally found the game again (last copy got broke) and installed the game like normal, started a new game and instantly crashed, im using a on-board intel chipset, so i downloaded http://www.moddb.com/downloads/intel-graphics-fix and this got my game running, but as soon as i start a new game and start off in the cabin, i can spin around while waiting for the bloke to come in and speak to my character but once they appear and the text appears i cant do anything else, no button does a thing and even hitting ESC does nothing, i have to Ctrl+Alt+Delete and do a force stop just to exit the game.

    Any ideas? Im running XP Pro as well
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You DO get into the dialog, right? Default controls are W and S for Up/Down and Space to continue.
     
  14. Bikes4life

    Bikes4life Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep get everything like normal but nothing happened, even using default keys to select what to say (Space Bar) didnt work but i solved that issue now, i done a re-install to a different folder (my other hdd in my pc) and that's solved it but the game still crashes alot when i go from world map to sailing mode for entering the port so i think its got to be my Intel chip set not being good enough. I even changed the settings to 800x600 16bit and low graphics and un-ticked the Safe Mode but still the game crashes alot.
     
  15. Jim Leeder

    Jim Leeder Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    A massive thanks to the guy who did the fix with sea.dll. I tried so much shit but now I've got it working!
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Indeed we're very happy with that fix by @amplificar!
    The graphics may not be 100%, but performance-wise it is SO much better than the old SwiftShader work-around. :woot
     
  17. JochemB

    JochemB Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Greetings folks,

    First of all, thanks for this amazing mod! I am greatly enjoying it. To business: I accidentally installed the intel graphics fix, could anyone tell me how to turn it off again? I don't have any intel graphics and would like to enjoy a better looking sea. Thanks!
     
  18. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    @JochemB: There should be an Uninstaller EXE for it in your main game folder.
     
  19. JochemB

    JochemB Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    There was, thanks!. Next time I will look harder... :ninja
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I don't mind quick fixes. ;)
     

Share This Page