1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

JRH quest

Discussion in 'Woodes Rogers (Howard Pyle)' started by Jack Rackham, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Maybe the profiles system got confused?
    Try removing the files named "options" from your main game folder.
    Maybe that helps?
     
  2. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    I found only one "options" file and removed it but it didn't help.
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    There should indeed be only 1.

    Very strange issue. Is that recent? When in doubt, I always revert to the last game version that wasn't affected by a bug....
     
  4. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    It looks like it has been there for a while (at least since 2015). I have diffculties finding an old version that works ok.
    Got one but it's hard to tell how old that one is.

    It's not a complete catastrophy as you can load a savegame in WR if you first stárt a new game in that storyline.
    I have also the storyteller that works.
     
  5. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I wonder if anyone else has the same problem.
    How about @Talisman for example?
     
  6. ANSEL

    ANSEL Corsair Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Artist,Painter
    Location:
    Viborg.Denmark
    There is no such problem here, the quest seems to work just fine.
     
  7. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    :shock
    Good to hear @ANSEL but very strange.

    Just to be sure:
    If you save a game in WR, quit the game completely and start a new game can you then load
    direct from the main menu that same WR save game?
     
  8. pedrwyth

    pedrwyth Privateer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    I certainly can't - but if I move the save to another storyline I can see it and load it, a subsequent save is then in WR directory (and again can't be seen to load after quitting the game and re-starting).

    So instead of loading a new game move your latest save to a different profile and you can load it next time - a bit clumsy I know but hopefully it may give a clue to how the storyline profile is not registering properly in the save load process.
     
  9. ANSEL

    ANSEL Corsair Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Artist,Painter
    Location:
    Viborg.Denmark
    I must say both yes and no, sometimes I can load the savegame, and other times I cant.
    It seems to be random or unstable. I will look at it tomorrow again.
    Another thing: The game takes more time to close, after playing WR, I see the startup
    windows just before the game close down.
     
  10. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Thanks @ANSEL and @pedrwyth for the information. Something is shaky here that's for sure.

    If there are save games in WR I can start a new game in WR without getting the question:
    "Do you really want to delete all save games" etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  11. pedrwyth

    pedrwyth Privateer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Looked into this a bit further and speculated that WR is missing because it is the last storyline alphabetically and probably the last in the sequence. Once you are into the game the storyline is simply taken from what is current hence you get to see any earlier saves/profiles in that storyline once you have loaded a save (even if from the wrong directory it still reads the storyline from inside the saved file) or a new game puts you into that storyline.

    It seems the actual current number is cleverly worked out in utils.c by the number of .c files in storyline directory - so I copied one and renamed it ZZ.c and low and behold WR saves reappear, delete it and they hideaway again. I see the GetStorylinesNumber in utils.c defaults to standard storyline above (number -1 )

    So a dummy file in storyline should temp fix things I think until someone who really knows the structure of these things comes along to make the (probably minor) required adjustment.
     
    ANSEL and Jack Rackham like this.
  12. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Excellent you found it. :onya
    I have no idea how to do it the right way but will add your temp fix! :yes
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Good catch, @pedrwyth!

    Really bizarre too. I wonder since when this has been a problem; I don't remember any relevant code being touched for quite a while.

    Anyway, sounds like it's time for a Bug Tracker entry!
     
  14. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    @Jack Rackham: Out of curiosity, what are these for?
    Code:
    #define EQUIP2_ITEM_TYPE     "equip2"     //JRH questitem with equip button
    #define EQUIP3_ITEM_TYPE     "equip3"     //JRH questitem with equip button
    
     
  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Also about this:
    Code:
          // PB: Swamps (yellow) -->
           if(CheckAttribute(loc, "environment.swamp") && loc.environment.swamp == "true")
           {
             Sea.GF3.WaterColor = argb(0,160,116,33);
             Sea.GF3.SkyColor = argb(0,179,187,6);
           }
           // PB: Swamps <--
    
           // JRH: Swamps (light green) -->
           if(CheckAttribute(loc, "environment.swamp2") && loc.environment.swamp2 == "true")
           {
             Sea.GF3.WaterColor = argb(100,100,100,100);
             Sea.GF3.SkyColor = argb(0,179,187,6);
           }
           // JRH: Swamps <--
    
    I never bothered to spend a lot of time getting the colour "right"; all I cared about is proving it could be made different.
    Do you reckon your colour looks better? If so, I'd be quite happy to replace the one I had before and make yours the new default.
     
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    @Jack Rackham: Do I recall correctly you had some new stuff underway? When were you planning to upload that?
    I'm just wondering when I should aim to have the new Installer EXE ready to go.
    I could try for this weekend or wait another week so that you've got more time and Grey Roger should be back again.
     
  17. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    This timing is very good for me! I have now uploaded on the ftp: "JRH files 17-01-06 2038".
    Now I can go back to the part which I managed to delete in feb 2016.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  18. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Good luck with that! I'm certain you'll be VERY glad once that is all in order again.
    At least the second time, it should go quicker, right? Plus... you can do it EVEN BETTER this time round! :woot
     
  19. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Well. I didn't have to. With the latest installer 17-01-07 all those files are back again.
    I don't know how you did this @Pieter Boelen :shock but it's indeed very good news for me.

    :xmas:xmas:xmas:xmas:xmas
     
    ANSEL and pedrwyth like this.
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I don't know either! Unless I'm very much mistaken, the 7 Jan 2017 installer is pretty much:
    28 Jul 2016 + Grey Roger's "Fixes Only" archive + some small additional changes
    But whatever is the case, THAT'S GOOD NEWS, THAT IS! :dance
     

Share This Page