• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

WIP New Ship Manual

Captain Rick

Sailor Apprentice
Ok this project has two parts.
1. I'm going to write a new manual so what do YOU want to see in it.
2. Ask anything in this thread you want to know about ships and I will FIND you an answer.

This is the loose plan and a way to reserve this space for a more organized plan *grins*

Ok guys when I was in the Navy if you bitched about something they gave you a job! Since I'm bitching about ships right now I figure its my job to give you as complete a report as possible. I also read a new ship recognition guide is needed. I'm no artist or historian and I know enough about sailing to be dangerous. So here's what I can do for the team.
1. Report weather the RP deck of the ship is appropriate to the model, examples are the Tartane RP deck is entirely too big for the model. One of the decks I think it was on the "suprise" was trashed like there had been a boarding.
2. Report if the textures look bad, most the smaller ships the textures are stretched too thin and look bad ect.
3. Report if the sails rotate right.
4. Report if the rigging is inside out lol
5. Hack the wind speed and direction (assuming this can be done I managed to do it in CAOS) and report speed at each point of sail.
6. Report time it takes the ship to do a 180 turn, why 180? so my lousy skill at tacking doesn't corrupt the data
7. Report if the number and size of guns seems right, for instance I noticed the gunboat is mounting 12 lb guns all around that seems a little big for such a small ship.
8. Photograph each ship when I test it
9. Report anything else you guys want a up to date report on.
10. Compose a manual on sailing documenting all the features, fire drills ect