1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Solved Build 14 Beta 3.2 Installation

Discussion in 'Build Support & Troubleshooting' started by Pappnase, May 16, 2014.

  1. moonbridge

    moonbridge Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    sorry didnt answer your question re:error log, and now ive just uninstalled it!

    well if it fails again I will make note of it
     
  2. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    Make sure you download part 2 again it should be 2.504.265.433 bytes in size (not size on disk but normal size)
     
  3. vince villodres

    vince villodres Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    One of my previous experience is same with you, mate. Try to double check your downloader (whatever it is). It greatly causes the download to crash and will give you an empty file.
     
  4. moonbridge

    moonbridge Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    ok I have now successfully downloaded the full file, b14_beta3_full-1.7z and the b14_beta3_installer_internal.exe, and placed them in their own folder.

    When I click on the installer and I begin setup, a window appears - 'main files archive not present. Place b14_beta3_full.potc in this folder to continue.'

    Why would it say that lads ? where am i going wrong, the stock game is installed outside program files and runs ok, and i am satisfied i have downloaded both parts correctly
     
  5. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    That problem is still there? :facepalm

    Try renaming the b14_beta3_full from 7zip to b14_beta3_full.potc. That works according to a post in the first page of this thread.
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The extension doesn't matter. It'll accept .7z and .potc. But the actual filename must match.
    According to your post, your copy of the files has a "-1" appended to it, which would make it fail.
     
  7. moonbridge

    moonbridge Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    File name updated to .potc accordingly, and im now playing the game!

    Thanks lads, and great work again. Im amazed by how good it looks and plays, so smooth

    HUZZAH!!
     
    Hylie Pistof likes this.
  8. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    omg I am so confused. Could someone please give me in complete step by step detail how I install play the regular POTC game?
     
  9. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    this is what i get when the stock has not been touched and its just sitting there in my downloads folder. When I click on it, it tells me where it wants me to extract the files. I extract them, click on ENGINE then it will load the main menu screen but when i press new game it crashes, also there are some other saved files in there so if i press load game it still crashes...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  11. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmmm.

    When you click on it and it says where it wants to extract to, click on the box with the dots on it to the right. A menu will come up. Select the hard drive you want to install it to, click on "make new folder", name the new folder "POTC", and click "OK". The installer will then install POTC into that folder. Open that folder and find the "engine.ini" file. If it doesn't say "ini". it is the one with no icon. It opens with notepad. Open it and at the top you will see 2 lines: Screen_x = 800 and screen_y = 600. Change the 800 and 600 to your screen resolution and click "file" and save, then exit. Then click on the engine.exe, the one with the icon, and the game should start and take you to the main menu. Then click on "new game" and it should start a new game. It does for me.

    If it does not, then what are your computer specs?
     
  12. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    So C: drive?
     
  13. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    I only have a C: Drive
     
  14. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    I did it this time it comes up with that storm engine 2 pop up but it crashes as soon as it loads...
     
  15. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    yeah i downloaded the intel graphics fix and put it into the same folder as the game but still crashes upon opening...
     
  16. Nikolas Kouimanis

    Nikolas Kouimanis Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    my laptop is a Dell XPS 13 Ultrabook
     

Share This Page